isa -15:
Fifteenth Joint ACL - ISO Workshop on Interoperable Semantic Annotation

Gothenburg, Sweden, May 23, 2019, in conjunction with IWCS 2019, May 23-27

isa-15, the Fourteenth Workshop on Interoperable Semantic Annotation, is the most recent edition of a series of joint workshops of the ACL Special Interest Group on Computational Semantics (SIGSEM) and ISO TC 37/SC 4 (Language Resources) WG 2: Semantic annotation.

These workshops bring together experts in the annotation of semantic information as expressed in text, speech, gestures, graphics, video, images, and in multiple modalities combined. Examples of semantic annotation include the markup of events, time, space, dialogue acts, discourse relations,semantic roles, reference relations, and quantification for which the ISO organization pursues the establishment of annotation standards, in order to support the creation of interoperable semantic resources.

See also the most recent previous ISA workshops:

ISA-14 in Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA, August 2018 -- See the program and the ISA-14 proceedings.

ISA-13 in Montpellier, France, September 2017 -- See the program and the ISA-13 proceedings.
ISA-12 in Portoroz, Slovenia, June 2016;
ISA-11 in London, UK, 2015
ISA-10 in Reykjavik, Iceland, 2014
ISA-9 in Potsdam, Germany, 2013
ISA-8 in Pisa, Italy, October 2012

Call for Papers
Topics for submissions include, but are not limited to:
* methodological aspects of semantic annotation
* experiments in semantic annotation
* use of context in semantic annotation procedures
* applications of semantic annotation
* crowdsourcing of semantic annotations
* uncertainty and ambiguity in semantic annotations
* integration of semantic annotation and other linguistic annotations
* combining annotations from different schemes
* semantic annotation, interpretation, and inferencing
* annotations linking language to context situations
* levels of granularity in annotation schemes
* goals of semantic annotation
* semantic annotation and ontologies
* comparison of semantic annotation schemes
* evaluation of semantic annotations
* semantic annotation in specialized domains
* best practices in semantic annotation procedures
* language- or application-specific aspects of semantic annotation
* issues in the annotation of specific domains of semantic information, such as:
. -- events, states, processes, circumstances, facts
. -- relations in discourse and dialogue
. -- time and space
. -- modality, polarity, factuality
. -- quantification and modification
. -- coreference relations
. -- semantic roles and predicate-argument structures
. -- reference and named entities
. -- attribution, attitudes, and emotions

Three types of submission are invited:

  • Research papers, describing original research in the area of semantic annotation; these can be either long (maximally 9 pages plus references and appendices) or short (4-6 pages plus references);
  • Project notes, describing recent, ongoing or planned projects involving semantic annotation (3-4 pages including references);
  • Demonstration notes, accompanying demonstration of software tools to support manual semantic annotation, or systems for automatic semantic annotation (2-4 pages including references).
Submission of papers is in PDF form through the ISA-15 submission site. Submissions should be formatted in the same way as those to the IWCS conference. Submissions do not need to be anonymous, in order to facilitate reference to existing annotation schemes, corpora, software tools, etc.

The IWCS 2019 conference and the ISA-15 workshop are hosted by the Centre of Linguistic Theory and Studies in Probability (CLASP) at Gothenburg University, and takes place in the university's Wallenberg Conference Centre.

Important dates
5 March 2019: Deadline for submitting papers
25 March 2019: Notification of acceptance
15 April 2019: Submission of camera-ready papers
23 May 2019:
isa-15 Workshop

Organizing committee

  • Harry Bunt (chair)
  • Kiyong Lee
  • Nancy Ide
  • James Pustejovsky
  • Laurent Romary

    Program committee

  • Jan Alexandersson
  • Ron Artstein
  • Harry Bunt (chair)
  • Nicoletta Calzolari
  • Jae-Woong Choe
  • Robin Cooper
  • Thierry Declerck
  • David DeVault
  • Jens Edlund
  • Alex Fang
  • Robert Gaizauskas
  • Kallirroi Georgila
  • Jan Hajic
  • Koiti Hasida
  • Nancy Ide
  • Elisabetta Jezek
  • Simon Keizer
  • Kiyong Lee
  • Paul Mc Kevitt
  • Adam Meyers
  • Roser Morante
  • Philippe Muller
  • Patrizia Paggio
  • Volha Petukhova
  • Massimo Poesio
  • Rashmi Prasad
  • Laurent Prevot
  • James Pustejovsky
  • Ines Rehbein
  • Laurent Romary
  • Ielka van der Sluis
  • Manfred Stede
  • Matthew Stone
  • Thorsten Trippel
  • Carl Vogel
  • Piek Vossen
  • Menno van Zaanen
  • Annie Zaenen
  • Heike Zinsmeister
  • Sandrine Zufferey

    More information
    For any questions contact the workshop chair,