isa-12 :
Twelfth Joint ACL - ISO Workshop on Interoperable Semantic Annotation

Portoroz, Slovenia, 28 May 2016, in conjunction with LREC 2016

Available now:
Workshop program
Booklet of abstracts

isa-12, the Twelfth Workshop on Interoperable Semantic Annotation, is the twelfth edition of a series of joint workshops of the ACL Special Interest Group on Computational Semantics (SIGSEM) and ISO TC 37/SC 4 (Language Resources) WG 2: Semantic annotation.

These workshops bring together experts in the annotation of semantic information as expressed in text, speech, gestures, graphics, video, images, and in multiple modalities combined. Examples of semantic annotation include the markup of events, time, space, dialogue acts, discourse relations, and semantic roles, for which the ISO organization pursues the establishment of annotation standards, in order to support the creation of interoperable semantic resources.

See also the most recent previous ISA workshops:

  • ISA-11 in London, UK, 2015;
  • ISA-10 in Reykjavik, Iceland, 2014;
  • ISA-9 in Potsdam, Germany, 2013;
  • ISA-8 in Pisa, Italy, October 2012;
  • ISA-7 in Istanbul, Turkey, May 2012;
  • ISA-6 in Oxford, UK, 2011;
  • ISA-5 in Hong Kong, 2010.

    Topics for submissions include, but are not limited to:
    * methodological aspects of semantic annotation
    * experiments in semantic annotation
    * comparative studies of annotation schemes
    * semantic annotation and ontologies
    * evaluation of annotation schemes
    * semantic annotation and semantic interpretation
    * context-dependence in semantic annotations
    * applications of semantic annotation
    * integration of semantic annotation and other linguistic annotations
    * issues in the annotation of specific domains of semantic information, such as:
    . -- events, states, processes, circumstances, facts
    . -- relations in discourse and dialogue
    . -- time and polarity and
    . -- quantification and modification
    . -- coreference relations
    . -- semantic roles and predicate-argument structures
    . -- reference and named entities * integration of annotations of different domains of semantic annotation
    * annotation of cross-domain phenomena such as negation, attribution and sentiment
    * levels of granularity in annotation schemes
    * cross-domain issues in semantic annotation, such as language- and application-dependence
    * best practices in semantic annotation

    Three types of submission are invited:

  • Research papers, describing original research in the area of semantic annotation; these can be either long (6-8 pages, not including references) or short (3-4 pages, not including references);
  • Project notes, describing recent, ongoing or planned projects involving semantic annotation (2-4 pages including references;
  • Demonstration notes, accompanying demonstration of software tools to support manual semantic annotation, or systems for automatic semantic annotation (2-4 pages including references),
    factuality,space - modality,

    Submission of papers is through the submission site of the ISA-12 workshop.

    Registration is via the on-line registration site of the LREC 2016 conference.

    The Grand Hotel Bernardin Conference Center, where LREC 2016 will be held.

    Accomodation and travel:
    For travel and accomodation information see the LREC 2016 website.


    11 Febuary 2016: Deadline for submitting papers EXTENDED to February 18
    4 March 2016: Notification of acceptance
    25 March 2016: Submission of camera-ready papers
    28 May 2016: isa-12 Workshop

    Harry Bunt
    Nancy Ide
    Kiyong Lee
    James Pustejovsky
    Laurent Romary
    Jan Alexandersson
    Harry Bunt (chair)
    Nicoletta Calzolari
    Thierry Declerck
    Liesbeth Degand
    David DeVault
    Alex Fang
    Robert Gaizauskas
    Daniel Hardt
    Koiti Hasida
    Elisabetta Jezek
    Michael Kipp
    Kiyong Lee
    Philippe Muller
    Malvina Nissim
    Volha Petukhova
    Paola Pietrandrea
    Andrei Popescu-Belis
    Laurent Prevot
    James Pustejovsky
    Laurent Romary
    Ted Sanders
    Manfred Stede
    Thorsten Trippel
    Piek Vossen
    Annie Zaenen
    Sandrine Zufferey


    For any questions contact the workshop chair at harry.bunt AT uvt DOT nl.