isa -14:
Fourteenth Joint ACL - ISO Workshop on Interoperable Semantic Annotation

Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA, August 25, 2018, in conjunction with COLING 2018, August 20-25

isa-14, the Fourteenth Workshop on Interoperable Semantic Annotation, is the most recent edition of a series of joint workshops of the ACL Special Interest Group on Computational Semantics (SIGSEM) and ISO TC 37/SC 4 (Language Resources) WG 2: Semantic annotation.

These workshops bring together experts in the annotation of semantic information as expressed in text, speech, gestures, graphics, video, images, and in multiple modalities combined. Examples of semantic annotation include the markup of events, time, space, dialogue acts, discourse relations,semantic roles, reference relations, and quantification for which the ISO organization pursues the establishment of annotation standards, in order to support the creation of interoperable semantic resources.

Proceedings available here.

See also the most recent previous ISA workshops:

ISA-13 in Montpellier, France, September 2017 -- See the program and the ISA-13 proceedings.
ISA-12 in Portoroz, Slovenia, June 2016;
ISA-11 in London, UK, 2015
ISA-10 in Reykjavik, Iceland, 2014
ISA-9 in Potsdam, Germany, 2013
ISA-8 in Pisa, Italy, October 2012

Program with slides

09:00 Opening
09:05 Ramesh Manuvinakurike, Jacqueline Brixey, Trung Bui, Alter Chang, Ron Artstein and Kallirroi Georgila: DialEdit: Annotations for spoken conversational image editing slides
09:35 Jun Araki, Lamana Mulaffer, Ann Pandian, Yukari Yamakawa, Kemal Oflazer and Teruko Mitamura: Interoperable Annotation of Events and Event Relations across Domains slides
10:05 Harry Bunt, Volha Petukhova, Emer Gilmartin, Simon Keizer, Catherine Pelachaud, Laurent Prevot and Mariet Theune: Downward Compatible Revision of Dialogue Annotation slides

10:35 Coffee break

11:00 Kiyong Lee, James Pustejovsky and Harry Bunt: The Revision of ISO-Space, Focused on the Movement Link slides
11:30 Emer Gilmartin and Carl Vogel: Chat, Chunk, and Topic in Casual Conversations slides
11:40 Mark-Matthias Zymla: Annotation of the Syntax/Semantics Interface as a Bridge between Deep Linguistic Parsing and TimeML slides
11:50: Ramesh Manuvinakurike, Sumanth Bharadwaj and Kallirroi Georegila: A Dialogue Annotation Scheme for Eight Management Chat using the Theoretical Model of Health Behavior Change slides
12:00 Tianyong Hao, Haotai Wang, Xinyu Cao and Kiyong Lee: Annotating Measurable Quantitative Information for an ISO Standard slides

12:10 Poster visits and lunch break

14:00 David Woods and Tim Fernando: Feedback Improving String Processing for Temporal Relations slides
14:30 Rashmi Prasad, Bonnie Webber and Alan Lee: Enriching the Penn Discourse Treebank slides
15:00 Deepthi Karkada, Ramesh Manuvinakurike and Kallirroi Georgila: Towards understanding end-of-trip instructions in a taxi ride scenario. slides

15:30 Tea break

16:00 ISO TC 37/SC 4/WG 2 meeting
17:00 Closing

Call for Papers
Topics for submissions include, but are not limited to:
* methodological aspects of semantic annotation
* integration of semantic annotation and other linguistic annotations
* considerations for merging annotations of distinct phenomena
* use of multiple levels of annotation
* semantic annotation, interpretation, and inferencing
* levels of granularity in annotation schemes
* use of context in semantic annotation procedures
* uncertainty and ambiguity in semantic annotations
* semantic annotation and ontologies
* comparison of semantic annotation schemes
* experiments in semantic annotation
* evaluation metrics and strategies for semantic annotation
* evaluation of semantic annotation schemes
* experiments in semantic annotation
* applications of semantic annotation
* best practices in semantic annotation procedures
* application and evaluation of standards for semantic annotation
* language- or application-specific aspects of semantic annotation
* issues in the annotation of specific domains of semantic information, such as:
. -- events, states, processes, circumstances, facts
. -- relations in discourse and dialogue
. -- time and space
. -- polarity, modality, factuality
. -- quantification and modification
. -- coreference relations
. -- semantic roles and predicate-argument structures
. -- reference and named entities
. -- attribution, attitudes, and sentiment

Three types of submission are invited:

Research papers, describing original research in the area of semantic annotation; these can be either long (maximally 9 pages plus references and appendices) or short (4-6 pages plus references);

Project notes, describing recent, ongoing or planned projects involving semantic annotation (3-4 pages including references);

Demonstration notes, accompanying demonstration of software tools to support manual semantic annotation, or systems for automatic semantic annotation (2-4 pages including references),

Submission of papers is through the ISA-14 submission site. Submissions should be formatted in the same way as those to the COLING 2018 conference. The COLING 2018 templates must be used, which are provided in LaTeX and in Word, and can be downloaded from

The Santa Fe Community Convention Center, see the COLING 2018 website.

Important dates
10 June 2018: Deadline for submitting papers
25 June 2018: Notification of acceptance
11 July 2018: Submission of camera-ready papers
25 August 2018:
isa-14 Workshop

Organizing committee

  • Harry Bunt (chair)
  • Kiyong Lee
  • Nancy Ide
  • James Pustejovsky
  • Laurent Romary

    Program committee

  • Jan Alexandersson
  • Ron Artstein
  • Harry Bunt (chair)
  • Nicoletta Calzolari
  • Jae-Woong Choe
  • Robin Cooper
  • Thierry Declerck
  • Liesbeth Degand
  • David DeVault
  • Jens Edlund
  • Alex Fang
  • Robert Gaizauskas
  • Jan Hajic
  • Koiti Hasida
  • Elisabetta Jezek
  • Simon Keizer
  • Kiyong Lee
  • Adam Meyers
  • Philippe Muller
  • Malvina Nissim
  • Patrizia Paggio
  • Silvia Pareti
  • Volha Petukhova
  • Massimo Poesio
  • Laurent Prevot
  • James Pustejovsky
  • Ines Rehbein
  • Laurent Romary
  • Merel Scholman
  • Manfred Stede
  • Matthew Stone
  • Thorsten Trippel
  • Carl Vogel
  • Piek Vossen
  • Menno van Zaanen
  • Annie Zaenen
  • Heike Zinsmeister
  • Sandrine Zufferey

    More information
    For any questions contact the workshop chair,